Who is the government

Hanisauland: Lexicon @todo: from Preprocess

Government / federal government

In a nutshell
The government runs the state. The government includes the ministers and the head of government. This is the Chancellor. The government decides which policy should be made in Germany. It proposes to the Bundestag which laws should apply. The Bundestag votes on it. The law can only become valid if a majority in the Bundestag approves it.

Management of the state

A government runs a state. It consists of a group of people also known as the "government team" or "cabinet". The head of government is at the head of the government. "Ministers" are the people who are responsible for different areas of responsibility in government. The government meets regularly in meetings. This is where decisions about a state's domestic and foreign policy are made. This could be, for example, new regulations on child benefit or taxes or measures in road traffic. The laws that regulate these things are passed by parliament.

Federal government
The government in Germany is officially called the "Federal Government". The head of the German government is called "Federal Chancellor" or "Federal Chancellor". You can find the names of the ministers of the federal government here. But it is not a mistake to just say "government" or "chancellor". The federal government works in the German capital Berlin. She is responsible for all of Germany.
State governments

The 16 German federal states also have governments. They are called "state governments". These are only responsible for their respective federal state. They work in the capitals of the federal states.

FAQ / Frequently Asked Questions

(Frequently Asked Questions - this is the English translation of "frequently asked questions")

your further questions ...

We also take a break at the weekend in HanisauLand.
You can ask your questions here again next week!